Rocknrolla

imagePressed play
Looped that shit
Turned it up so loud
Made me beg for it

I wanted to feel the rhythm and clanging
Hammering guitars
Chords like vibrating
Fingers inside me

A song I forgot
Played itself on me
Inside the confines of steel, fiberglass and upholstery

I remembered had a lover

I wished I had a real man like I did
And I did
And he stared
And he was dazzled
And I stared back
And I wanted
I was wanted
Someone wanted me

And the music was between us
And on us
I thought I knew what love was
He could only look at me
For once in my life I was somebody’s

And then the music changed
And changed again
Press fast forward
The feeling is fading

Replaced by half truths
Liars and flatterers
Takers and walking dead
Defiling the sacred
I bled for them
While they sang sweetly and fled

And comes the chorus
Some part of me wants the haunting
So I sing it over and over
But then it’s over
Lover to lover
We all know how the song ends
You are not my friends
I know
I really had one once
So I can tell the difference

He danced to the beat with me
He really looked
Really tried to find the soul
That hid behind the promises of the body
He asked for me
And I would still be his

But we’re not getting the band back together
That kind of reunion
Not meant to happen
But I won’t forget it

Hey turn that up
I’m getting something
What was I saying about love and romance?
Oh this noise is more beautiful
I just wanna feel the rhythm and the clanging
If you believe me
Tell me that you feel it too

Leave a Reply

