This one’s for me

Someday
Someone else will think I am pretty
Someone will hold me in high esteem
Today is not that day
Today the only person I will look to for that is me.

In the near future
Someone besides myself will value my existence
Someone will miss my very presence
Right now has felt barren of any such kind of sentiment
For tomorrow I wish to no longer look outside for it

Years from now
A “we” will look back and see how far we’ve come
I will fully appreciate how long my own journey was
This year has not been kind or gentle or proud
This year I truly learned what grief was about

When I have gone
I hope my family will look on me with love and respect
I hope my life will have meant more than some transition from birth to death
So often it’s been a challenge I didn’t agree to or want
But I’m here to take it. Now. And for the somedays and the future, and the me who matters
and is SOMEONE.

3 thoughts on “This one’s for me

  1. Well, I’m happy you decided to wake up today, even if maybe you didn’t want to at first. You decided to face your life another day, and tomorrow you will do the same.You will get through this day, and tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow…

    Maybe it won’t get any easier as each day passes. Maybe it will even get worse. Keep going.

    Because, like me and everybody else, one day you’ll know why you choose to stay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

