Wild Offering 

Sick and shaky

I want you anyway
These things we say
Hurt 
Like I hurt for years
But you’re real
You’re the only thing I want in my veins
I don’t want to eat
I don’t want to sleep
I want to lie there with you
Enmeshed
And on fire
You’re the drug
You’re the high
You’re the crash
And the exquisite pain
And the pincers and the sting 
And the drowning 
I don’t even try to hold my breath
I want to take your power
Harness it
But the wild in you
Knows no kindness 
Won’t even peer out from the shadows
To sniff
To taste
You snarl and clench your teeth at me
When I want to feed you
And I won’t put down the fucking offering 
And walk away
I won’t leave you be
Magnificence 
So brutal
Dazzling 
Hurts my eyes
Highly polished steel
So hard
Impenetrable
I’ll go blind
From seeking edges
Feeling for something soft
That I can touch and hold
That can be mine
Warriors and sojourners 
We
Not wizards, not heroes
Travelers
Nomads
The world open 
Endless
Homeless
Crisscross 
Similar maps
Heart lines broken
Can’t retrace or 
Change course
Only navigate on
And I will look for you at every way station
Every port
A face 
Will remind me
Of your perfect danger
Heat, cold
Sudden
Primitive
Assault
My senses
Wasted
Engaged
Enraptured 
Holding out that damned apple 
Hoping
2 thoughts on “Wild Offering 

  1. Pingback: Links of the Week – March 20, 2015 | A Long Run

Leave a Reply

